Skip to content

Dichroic Light – Album


Order below or stream on




Apple Music

Released 4/5/2015

Categories: ,

Track List

  1. Ulation [Emma Lloyd]
  2. Quartet for Violin, Viola, Cello and Double Bass [The Robinson Panoramic Quartet]
  3. Solo for Viola D’amore and Electronics [Emma Lloyd]
  4. Dichroic Light: Movement I [Abby Hayward]
  5. Dichroic Light: Movement II [Abby Hayward]
  6. Dichroic Light: Movement III [Abby Hayward]
  7. Well, Well, Well [Red Note Ensemble]
  8. Three Pieces for Bass Clareint and Electronics: Piece One [Joanna Nicholson]
  9. Three Pieces for Bass Clareint and Electronics: Piece Two [Joanna Nicholson]
  10. Three Pieces for Bass Clareint and Electronics: Piece Three [Joanna Nicholson]
  11. The World in an Oyster, An Oyster in the World [Red Note Ensemble]
  12. Quartet No.3 [Aurea Quartet]

Recording Info



“Matthew Whiteside explores combinations of spectral and melodic patterns. With him, tonality and sound complement each other into an inseparable and original unity.”

Matthew Whiteside is a cerebral composer and sound designer who’s creating classical-crossover works to challenge the 21st century consensus.’

Dichroic Light takes its name from dichroic glass that displays two colours, depending on how the light hits it. It’s a nice metaphor for an album which has the duality of incredible beauty and unsettling mood.’
Lorna Irvine, Across the Arts ****–dichroic-light-/

‘Matthew Whiteside is clearly a talented and creative person who is already doing well and no doubt has a bright future.’
Dominey Clements, Musicweb International

Dichroic Light, recorded by Abby Hayward for Dichroic Light

‘a magic sonic amplification of the solo cello through electronics’
Ken Walton, The Scotsman. 16/5/2015 ****

‘Melding chamber aesthetics with electronic minimalism, the Lisburn-born composer’s debut strikes a rewarding balance of abstract subtlety and melodic power’

Solo for Viola D’amore and Live Electronics, recorded by Emma Lloyd for Dichroic Light

‘overall effect is one of meditation – a Japanese stone garden whose raked ripples have been brought into sound’
Dominey Clements, Musicweb International

‘Music for headphones, in the best possible way’
Graham Rickson, The Arts Desk

‘those delicately sculpted moments that show Matthew’s flair for working with the expressive freedom and flexibility of the solo performer’

Drew Hammon, Scottish Journal of Performance

You may also like…

  • Well, Well, Well (2013) – alto flute, viola, double bass

    Buy now
  • Solo for Viola D’amore and Electronics (2015)

    Buy now
  • The World in an Oyster, An Oyster in the World (2011) – piano trio

    Buy now

Matthew Whiteside will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please tick the box below.

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.